Print

Hotel Koldingfjord A/S
Fjordvej 154
6000 Kolding
Tlf.: 75 51 00 00
E-mail: hotel@koldingfjord.dk


Koldinghus

Koldinghus are stunning and weathered buildings from five centuries, accommodating noble rooms like a great hall, castle church and a library hall, as well as a gloomy dungeon. Enjoy the amazing view from the top of the tower. The newly restored wings by architects Inger and Johannes Exner are a world class tourist sight. 

The Danish king Erik Glipping built a castle in the heart of Kolding in 1268, to guard the border between the Kingdom of Denmark and the duchy Schleswig. The oldest, preserved parts, which you can see today, are from the years around 1400. In the middle of the 16th century, the castle lost its defence works and the tower was built around 1600. At that time, the king often resided at Koldinghus. In the 1720’s, it was re-built once again, but was rarely visited by the court, and the castle fell into decay.

In 1808, Spanish auxiliary troops in the Napoleonic Wars made such a powerful fire that it burnt the castle. Rebuilding was first started in 1890. 

Today, Koldinghus is a modern museum, accommodating collections with interior from the 1500 years to the present, Roman and Gothic church sculptures, older Danish pictorial art, as well as crafts – mainly ceramics and silver. The museum further includes Denmark’s largest collection of modern and contemporary Danish silver.

Read more on www.koldinghus.dk


This page can found at: http://www.koldingfjord.dk/en/accommodationholiday/worth-a-visit/koldinghus/ Udskrevet d. 19. April 2014 - kl. 17:27